Do you know how many prefectures are in Japan? Japan has 47 prefectures which make up 9 regions: Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Hokuriku, Tokai, Kinki, Sanin, Shikoku, and Kyushu on the map (some would say 7-8 regions depending on their vantage point). Sometimes Japan is divided more simply in half; the Pacific Ocean side and the Sea of Japan side.